Breast Cancer -An acrostic

Blot out these-
Rebellious cells
Emerging
Aggravatingly
Scoop them out
Tarnished body wails!

Contours lost
Awry lines
Never will be set right
Cure elusive as I,
Endure in hope
Respite cannot be far

Prompted at : Acrostic poetry

P.S: It is not new.. I am struggling hard to find words to express my feelings.. and the words I do find.. seem not enough ! Anyhow.. this is my desperate attempt to finally write “poetry” I know this is not good enough.. and yet I love the first stanza.. what do you say ?

4 Comments

  1. I think this is lovely. I love the first and last stanza. I’m a cancer survivor, not breast but uterine, but next for me will be breast as the oncologist told me this, but I don’t worry right now.

    I Have friends who have and had breast cancer, so this is a subject near and dear to my heart. Keep writing. Our muse quiets at times, but different paces can help release her stubbornness. Just keep writing.

  2. You are right Winnie, the first stanza is very good, but I also like the second one too.

    My muse is sort of dead too, but I just write about anything, join prompts just to keep myself in the mix. It good to see you back.

  3. I think you’ve done a great job at expressing yourself. Poetry has a particular flow that tends to wrap around hidden messages, at least that’s how I look at it. From this poem I get a perfect flow of rhythm and a message that’s hauntingly familiar. Great job.

  4. Beautiful! You’ve expressed it well. I have a friend with newly diagnosed breast cancer. 3 small children. I hope you don’t mind if I share this with her.

Leave a Reply

