The Flower….

Danced with the wind,
Gentle swishing,
Spreading my heavenly fragrance
Swaying to the tune
Of the blue jay’s croon
With my dear ones near
I was not happy
Was longing for vagrance….

I wanted to see the world,
find places and people
Adorn a lovely lady’s braid
I was never afraid,
Embraced the future, that unfurled

Hands of destiny heard my prayer,
I was plucked, kept in the foyer
With thousands of different others,
Fearful and teary they were,
Of myriad different colors,

I was on the spur….

A lady took me as an offering,
to the mighty lord.
I was strung in a cord,
I glowed in heavenly light
There was no end to my delight!

Soon the day turned to night,
And the gush of devotees turned to trickle
I never realized, fate was fickle,
Lost my charm, color and smell
alas, from the grace, I had fell

Unceremoniously dumped in the bin,
wherein the muck and dirt, to the edge cling
Trampled all over, left to rot
I thought I was for a spin,
The memory of home, in my throat caught..
I remembered the beautiful shady tree,
my home;
Where blue jay’s sing, to the wind…

Left alone , no one to hear my sighs.
I realized;
Travels of mind, are of different kind,
With friends, and laughter
Where bees sought after..
me;
thats where my world lies,

alas it was too late….
I had finally resigned to my fate

6 Comments

  1. Left alone , no one to hear my sighs.
    I realized;
    Travels of mind, are of different kind,
    With friends, and laughter
    Where bees sought after..
    me;
    thats where my world lies,

    So very true..
    A fact of the matter, and sadly so..:(
    Nicely put!!
    Thought provocative.:)

  2. your words are so nice…liked ur blog so much… awesome … as told by my fellow blogger above… very thought provoking indeed… can i add u to my blogroll??

  3. Vinay ofcourse! i have alreay added you 😛

    Bharat.. yeah .. 😦

    but thanx for the comments 🙂

  4. lovely… felt sad for the flower. 😦 kinda puts my dreams in their place, lol… makes me feel grateful for wat ive already got!

  5. “I never realized, fate was fickle,” – like the slap of an epiphany!!

    I submit my regards to another wonderful verse. A decayed flower has occupied my ruminations too and how beautifully you have brought the theme to comprehensive closure!

    Yes, I like to see a flower where it belongs too – for any other purpose I feel it is a betrayal of the flower!

Leave a Reply

